Jordan: The Majid AlSadi Changing Lives Programme


IMG_5356

I was lucky enough to be chosen from over 120 applications  to participate in the third Majid AlSadi Changing Lives Programme funded by the Chairman and CEO of Eastern Holding; Dr Majid AlSadi who is also one of Coventry University’s highest achieving alumni.

The purpose of the programme is to give 14 Coventry University students the opportunity to work with The Al-Aman Fund for the Future of Orphans and The Jordan Media Institute to gain a cross-cultural experience.

The programme was entirely funded by Dr Majid AlSadi and we were accommodated at his 5* hotel, Millennium Hotel in Amman.

I applied for the programme within a week of receiving an email through my university account and was informed of my successful application on August 20th, during a busy shift at work.

Before applying, the programme appealed to me because I have never been fortunate enough to travel to the Middle East before and I was excited to work with one of the best media institutes – Jordan Media Institute – and their students on the Masters programme. As an aspiring professional journalist, this programme has motivated me even more to continue my pursuit in the journalism sector.

Surprisingly, after taking part in the programme, I’m not aware of the humanitarian, social and political situation around the Middle East – not by reading a newspaper, but by interacting with the people themselves.

It has not only developed my personal skills but also opened my eyes to what I can do to help people. I didn’t expect to feel so passionate about humanitarian aid before this programme but now I’m committed to making a social change in Jordan and for the refugees affected – merely £10 was enough to keep a family warm.

I’ve blogged about the past 12 days (from 16th September to 27th September) here – please click to read about my journey in Jordan.

One response to “Jordan: The Majid AlSadi Changing Lives Programme

Leave a Reply

